Posted by: willtblog | April 8, 2010

Update #3: A/C Mould

As I see it, there are two ways that I can mount the A/C Unit in the Ash Tray compartment 1. Source some ABS plastic sheets and cut it out or 2. Fill the Ash Tray Compartment with expanding foam, and cut it into shape.

As I have no idea where I can get some ABS plastic, I have progressed with the Expanding Foam idea.

I bought some electric tape + some expanding foam from Mitre 10.

No More Gaps! + Tape

No More Gaps! + Tape

Because the expanding foam fixes itself to almost anything, I taped the inside of the Ash Tray compartment, making sure there was no plastic visible!

No plastic visible!

I then went into the workshop to spray the exapnding foam into out ash tray mould.

Start at the back and..

work your way out!

This expanding foam sets in about 4 hours. Time to make a cuppa tea and watch a film or two. I was too nervous to leave it be, and checked on it every 5 mins.

5 mins

7 mins

10 mins

15 mins

20 mins

Leave a Reply

Categories

